Intervals – Sweet Tooth


Intervals is a window into the mind of guitarist & composer, Aaron Marshall. Founded in 2011, Intervals is a progressive and forward thinking staple in modern instrumental music with roots firmly planted in all things traditional, & an open eye on the future. The Shape of Colour is the natural evolution of Aaron’s sound & a testament to his knack for infectious melody, & engaging compositions.

Intervals originally started as a creative outlet for guitarist Aaron Marshall in 2011 after the demise of his previous band; he wrote, recorded and programmed all the instruments for the debut EP “The Space Between”.

After the release of “The Space Between”, Aaron recruited 3 more members and made Intervals into an instrumental band. The band toured extensively and recorded a follow up EP, “In Time”, in 2012.

In 2013, Intervals announced that they would now no longer be an instrumental band; their bassist Mike Semesky would switch to being the band’s vocalist. Their debut album and first release with vocals, “A Voice Within”, was released in 2013. On November 25, 2014, it was announced that Mike Semesky had left the band. An instrumental version of A Voice Within was released on Bandcamp on March 3, 2015.

On June 23, 2015, Lukas (guitar) and Anup (drums) announced on Facebook that they are no longer a part of Intervals. This separation was caused by different expectations about the future of Intervals. At this point Aaron was the only member of the band, but the next album featured Cameron McLellan (Protest The Hero) on bass guitar, and Travis Orbin (Darkest Hour, Periphery, Sky Eats Airplane) on drums. The instrumental album ‘The Shape of Colour’ was been released December 4, 2015.


Camera Operators: Mark Gross, Brandon Ross, Tim Freelink
Video Editor: Tim Freelink
Audio: “Black Box” by Intervals